Holyrood Dog of the Year: meet Mabel

MSP Christine Grahame and Mabel are announced winners of this year’s Holyrood Dog of the Year competition. Image by Lesley Martin/PA Wire

Mabel, a one-year-old German Shorthaired Pointer, has been named Holyrood Dog of the Year, now in its fourth edition and returning for the first time since 2019.

Mabel, who entered the event with Christine Grahame, Scottish National Party MSP for Midlothian South, Tweeddale and Lauderdale, impressed the judges with her “loveable character and devotion to her constituents”.

Organised by The Kennel Club and Dogs Trust, the competition took place on Monday 9 May in the Scottish Parliament gardens at Horse Wynd, Edinburgh. Mabel, who is owned by Christine’s Office Manager, defeared thirteen ‘paw-litical’ opponents to win.

“She was in a super litter, brought up properly, she was in a happy household. All dogs should have that in their lives”

MSP Christine Grahame said, “They’re all winners because the dogs are all wonderful, but the event is really about highlighting animal welfare and dog welfare. I’m bringing a Bill forward in Parliament [Proposed Welfare of Dogs (Scotland) Bill] to make sure people who acquire a puppy, just like Mabel, do their homework first, and from a breeder who makes sure they have the right household and the right lifestyle.

“I want to stop people buying puppies from puppy farms. Mabel is a puppy who had an excellent start to life. She was in a super litter, brought up properly, she was in a happy household. All dogs should have that in their lives.”

In addition to 1st, 2nd and 3rd place awards, the competition also had a winner decided solely from the public vote. That winner was Bluesy, a Greyhound, accompanied by Mark Ruskell, Scottish Green Party MSP for Mid Scotland and Fife region.

Owen Sharp, Dogs Trust Chief Executive, added, “With the last Holyrood Dog of the Year taking place in 2019, it is wonderful to be back in Edinburgh to celebrate our canine companions.

“Choosing a winner is never easy as there is no doubt all the dogs are winners, but congratulations to Mabel and Christine Grahame MSP who stood out because of their great work in Parliament together.

“Thank you to all the MSPs and their devoted dogs for taking part and for making this year’s event so memorable.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here